I Stopped and Stared – OneRepublic in KL 2013

Lately I’ve been, I’ve been losing sleep
Dreaming about the things that we could be…

And…that is where I got the name of this blog. From the song, Counting Stars by OneRepublic.

Now I wouldn’t say I’m the biggest fan of OneRepublic, but I would say that I’ve been subconsciously singing their radio-released songs ever since Apologize came out on the radio a couple years ago. Honestly, I only know one member’s name, and yes you guessed it, frontman Ryan Tedder.

It was only earlier this year that I found out that I’m such a big fan of their songs. I have to admit that most of their songs sound almost alike, it’s all got that orchestral-choir-singing-soothing tone but they’ve just kept me coming back for more and more. Thinking back, I love all of their radio released songs that I can recognise it within the first two seconds of the song and the lyrics instantly come to me.
After Apologize, there were;

Stop and Stare
Secrets
Say (All I Need)
All The Right Moves
Good Life, Feel Again
If I Lose Myself
Counting Stars

And I bet a lot of you have heard of these songs and sang along when it came on the radio as well.
By the way, I can listen to Secrets forever, it’s just so good.

So, when I heard that OneRepublic was to perform in KL, I was determined to get myself at that concert. Got myself a VIP zone ticket, which was the closest section to the stage. It was worth RM298 but since I bought it at an early bird price, I only paid RM254 and I can say, it was well worth it. I was so super excited on that morning that I even came up with this cheesy paragraph with a few of their songs in it,

If I lose myself tonight
It’ll be by OneRepublic’s side
Because they got all the right moves
In all the right places
And I’ll stop and stareeeee
But until then I’ll be counting stars

At about 7pm on 31st October 2013 (HALLOWEEN!), I headed over to Sunway Lagoon with my sister. Stood around and waited till 8.45pm when OneRepublic finally showed up on stage. Well, almost. They had put up a large white cloth covering the whole stage, switched off all the lights except for a few behind the white cloth so that it would cast shadows of each member as they played the opening of Light It Up.

It was amazing.

  OneRepublic Live in KL 2013  OneRepublic Live in KL 2013

About two minutes into the song, they pull the cloth down (which was a little failed as it fell part by part) and we see all members wearing a scary Halloween mask jamming out on the song.
THEN RIGHT AFTER THAT, THEY PERFORMED SECRETS.
Holy gooseballs, I was so not ready for that. I stood there eyes glued to Ryan and sang along. I didn’t even bother taking pictures or video-ing it. I just wanted to savour and devour every second of the song. I’m pretty sure I had an eargasm right there.

A couple of songs later, they played Stop and Stare, another one of my favorites. Mainly because it was played in the first episode of the TV show Castle, which happens to be my current obsession for the last two years. This show is literally all I think about when I have nothing else to do. Stop and Stare was played on the background as the two lead characters, Castle and Beckett had their first ‘Caskett‘ moment. And  Caskett is a ship name for CAStle and becKETT, just so you know. But I shall explain and rant about my Castle obsession in another post which I will need time for because this show changed my life 😛

OneRepublic performed a total of 18 songs which I think is pretty generous but as I was there after they played If I Lose Myself as their encore closing, I couldn’t help but think it wasn’t enough. I wanted more. The rest of the songs, I have posted it on Setlist.fm below.

OneRepublic Setlist Sunway Surf Beach, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 2013

It was good show. No wait, it was a GREAT show. I’d pay to go for another OneRepublic concert.

RYAN TEDDER,
IF YOU HAPPEN, BY ANY TINY LITTLE CHANCE READ THIS CONCERT REVIEW OUT OF A THOUSAND OUT THERE, PLEASE COME BACK TO MALAYSIA BECAUSE NEXT TIME, I’D WANT TO MEET YOU IN PERSON.
I LOVE YOU.

Yeah, I definitely lost myself that night.

This is me hugging Ryan. Well, sort of...

This is me hugging Ryan. Well, sort of…

IMG-20131101-WA0017

OneRepublic Live KL 2013

Copy of 20131031_220106

OneRepublic Live KL 2013

Leave a Reply

