Songs for Memories

Listening to a song that I like will most probably bring back memories of my own, whether it is someone, something or some part of my life. I guess we all tend to associate a certain song we like to listen to, to that period of time of our life. When I hear a ‘80s or a ‘90s song that I have heard of before, I tend to reminisce about when I was just a child sitting at the back seat of the car while the radio plays that song. Yes, I was only born in ’94 which is way after those songs were at their prime time but I have parents that would tune to this specific radio channel that plays ‘old’ songs. At that age of being ten years or younger, I would groan and grumble about how ‘old’ these songs were. Then I would ask to change the radio channel to something more recent. The “Hot Hits Today” aka the Boyband Era. Mind you, this was in the years 2000-2004. I would want my Westlife, Blue, Backstreet Boys, N’SYNC and Boyzone, not my mom’s favourite Air Supply, Chicago, Neil Diamond, Simply Red and Eagles.

Now whenever these ‘old’ songs would play, I’d be “HEY I KNOW THAT SONG!” I would even sing along to the chorus subconsciously because those words were already imprinted deep inside my brain from the countless time I’ve listened to them in the car. And you know what, I love those songs now. I’ve grown up with those songs and I’ve grown to love them, as corny as those lyrics were. There’s just something with those high falsettos that Air Supply and Chicago has, because if you ask me now, those two bands are my favourite ‘80s band. I’m all out of love…I’m so lost without youuuu….

Then there are songs which I used to love so very much, until I have associated it with a particular someone and that someone and I aren’t that close anymore. I used to loooove Lifehouse’s Fallin’ In. Then I had subconsciously it associated it with this crush I had because while I was crazy about him, the radio played it so much at that time and it has described my situation so perfectly. Then we didn’t work out and now when I hear that song, it brings me back to thinking about him. At first it hurt but now, I’m learning to love that song again because I’ve moved on from him.

After that, there’s my douchebag ex which you probably read about in my previous posts. He loved Zedd and Hayley William’s Stay the Night. I was alright with it, it’s a nice, catchy song and it was played everywhere at that time. Now when I hear it, I think of him and I instantly hate that song. Although I liked the song, I cannot listen to it. It went the same for a few of other Zedd’s songs. It’s such a shame because I like Zedd. One day, I shall get over it and be able to enjoy that song like I did with Fallin’ In.

Onto happier times now, during my internship last year, I really enjoyed myself. You can read all about that here. So there’s this one colleague who’s really fun and nice and he introduced to me Matt Kearney’s Ships in the Night. I loved it the first time I heard it, such a beautiful song. Now when it plays on my Spotify playlist, I think of him and my internship. During those two months, I got along well with the rest of the department and I’ve come to known of some of their songs they randomly sang in the office and partied to during the annual dinner. Those songs were Danza Kudoro  by Lucenzo and Don Lore V as well as Bara Bara Bere Bere by Michel Telo. These two songs remind me of those two months. I also was talking to this senior positioned manager and as they were karaoke-ing, Bob Dylan’s Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door came on and he told me that’s his favourite song and after having a couple of drinks he started dancing and singing along to the song. It was a fun night and I now associate that song to him.

I could go on and on about how each song I know or like represent a memory in my life, but these are the ones that I happened to be listening currently. Songs can bring you back in time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

