Almost Getting Ripped Off

I don’t know if it was a case of pure mistake of one’s doing or a very smartly crafted way of ripping customers off.

As of now, I will treat it as an (almost) perfect con.

Yesterday (Saturday), I went over to Chawan at Jalan Telawi, Bangsar for lunch with some family members. There was 9 of us in total and we took over three tables. Yes, we were probably the largest group there at that time. I find their Nasi Lemak Sambal Sotong pretty good, and I have eaten a whole lotta sambal sotong over the years. Their iced coffee there is also strong and full of flavour, albeit the higher than usual price of kopi ais (Iced coffee) elsewhere. Then again, it’s gotta be the area. Bangsar Telawi is pretty happening for your go-to food area in KL.

Since there was a large group of us and with a food and drink each, the bill was bound to be a large sum, no doubt about that.  After a almost two hours of sitting, eating and chatting, we called for the bill. An aunt passed it to me while she digs for money in her purse and told me to check it. To my surprise, I found a plate of keropok (crackers) in the bill that I don’t remember seeing anyone eating. At first, I thought it was a mistake by the waiter who accidentally keyed it in. Then my other family members asked me to run through the whole list for anymore mistakes. I found three more.

In total, we were charged of three extra drinks and an extra snack. It came up to an extra RM21. I was shocked that a “mistake” could be so big! At that point, the whole table knew they (the waiter/restaurant) was taking the opportunity to rip us off, just because we were a large group and usually, large groups of people do not check the bill as there was too much items to check for.

Now, usually we don’t check the bill too thorough but after finding one extra item, we tend to check through everything. I reaaaally hope this was an honest mistake, and not them doing this to every large group that comes in for a meal, because I like eating there.

If this ever happened to anyone out there at the same place (Chawan, 69 Jalan Telawi 3, Bangsar Baru, 59100 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia), do let me know. Because if someone else out there had this happened then all is revealed.

One thought on “Almost Getting Ripped Off

Leave a Reply

